Mail from Karlheinz

Hasnain Kazim

Hasnain Kazim

The fact that Hasnain Kazim receives hateful letters from readers is not surprising – especially since he chooses to write about rather delicate topics and, on top of that, bears a foreign-sounding name. However, his reaction to these letters is rather surprising. Instead of simply disregarding peoples outbursts he decides to reply to them with witty responses yielding eye-opening dialogues time and time again.

By publishing excerpts from these correspondences Hasnain Kazim managed to acquire an enthusiastic fanbase. In his book he explains why you shouldn’t let hate and other nonsense, ending up in your postbox, pass without comment.

Hasnain Kazim was born in 1974 in Oldenburg as the son of Indian-Pakistani immigrants. Since 2004 he writes for “Spiegel Online” and “Spiegel”. For 9 years he has been living abroad, working as a correspondent in cities like Islamabad, Istanbul and – currently – Vienna. For his extraordinary coverings he won the title of “Politikjournalist des Jahres” (“Political Journalist of the Year”). Kazim has written several books including “Krisenstaat Türkei” (“Crisis State Turkey”).

Photo: Hasnain Kazim / Credit: privat

Visit Us On Facebook

Post von Karlheinz

Hasnain Kazim

Hasnain Kazim

Dass Hasnain Kazim als Journalist hasserfüllte Leserpost bekommt, ist nicht überraschend – zumal er über heikle Themen schreibt und einen fremd klingenden Namen trägt. Überraschend ist jedoch seine Reaktion auf diese Zusendungen. Statt die Ergüsse der Wutbürger einfach wegzuklicken, antwortet er schlagfertig und witzig, woraus sich immer wieder erhellende Dialoge ergeben.

Mit Auszügen aus dieser Korrespondenz hat sich Hasnain Kazim eine begeisterte Fangemeinde erschrieben. In seinem Buch zeigt er, warum man den Hass und Schwachsinn, der im eigenen Postfach landet, nicht unkommentiert lassen sollte.

Hasnain Kazim, 1974 als Sohn indisch-pakistanischer Einwanderer in Oldenburg geboren, schreibt seit 2004 für Spiegel Online und den Spiegel. Seit 2009 lebt er als Korrespondent im Ausland, u.a. in Islamabad, Istanbul und derzeit in Wien. Für seine Berichterstattung wurde er u.a. als „Politikjournalist des Jahres“ geehrt. Er ist Autor mehrerer Bücher, darunter „Krisenstaat Türkei“ (2017).

Foto: Hasnain Kazim / Credit: privat

Visit Us On Facebook