Highlife, Jazz and R'n'B

Orlando Julius & The Heliocentrics

Orlando Julius & The Heliocentrics

Orlando Julius is one of the biggest legends of Nigerian music. In 1966 the Modern Aces, Julius’ former band, published their debut album “Super Afro Soul”. On this record they combined the musical sounds of the Nigerian independence and the Afro-American civil rights movement by mixing genres like highlife, jazz, and R’n’B.

In 2014 the British label Strut Records released their first internationally published studio album called “Jaiyede Afro”. While Orlando Julius himself provides the record with saxophone sounds and vocals, he is supported by London’s incredibly eclectic formation The Heliocentrics.

By incorporating so far unheard compositions from his early years this album leads us back to the musician’s roots. The Heliocentrics took Orlando’s sounds and added an exciting new touch by joining old melodies with adventurous psychedelic accents.

Photo: Orlando Julius / Credit: Alexis Maryon

Visit Us On Facebook

Highlife, Jazz und R'n'B

Orlando Julius & The Heliocentrics

Orlando Julius & The Heliocentrics

Orlando Julius ist eine der großen Legenden nigerianischer Musik. Das 1966 erste veröffentlichte Album „Super Afro Soul“ seiner damaligen Band Modern Aces kombinierte die Richtungen Highlife, Jazz und R’n’B und vereinte damit die Musik nigerianischer Unabhängigkeit mit dem Soundtrack der afro-amerikanischen Bürgerrechtsbewegung.

Das britische Label Strut Records brachte 2014 mit „Jaiyede Afro“ sein erstes international veröffentlichtes Studio-Album heraus. Auf diesem wurde Orlando Julius – selbst Saxophon und Gesang – von der unglaublich vielseitigen Londoner Formation The Heliocentrics unterstützt.

Das Album führte Orlando Julius zurück zu seinen Wurzeln, wobei er auf bislang ungehörte Kompositionen seiner frühen Jahre zurückgriff. The Heliocentrics nahmen Orlandos Sound mit in neue, progressive Richtungen. Dabei behielten sie den Charakter seiner frühen Arbeit bei und fügten psychedelische Anklänge sowie abenteuerliche neue Arrangements hinzu.

Foto: Orlando Julius / Credit: Alexis Maryon

Visit Us On Facebook